Causing the death of someone as a result of driving drunk will result in a criminal charge which carries severe penalties for the person convicted. If you are accused of killing someone as a result of driving under the influence of alcohol, a crime that’s also referred to a INTOXICATION MANSLAUGHTER, you’ll need to quickly come to grips with the situation, and retain an experienced Houston DWI lawyer prior to appearing in court. In the meantime, you and your lawyer will need to prepare for the fight of your life.
Finding a DWI Lawyer for the Job
Below, we’ve added a listing of one of the best DWI Lawyers in Texas should you need a pointer.
Drunk Driving & Accidental Homicide
A homicide that occurred a result of Driving While Intoxicated is a felony in Texas. If prosecuted as a DWI homicide (intoxication manslaughter), a guilty conviction will come with prison time. Needless to say, no one wants to serve any prison time.
Of course, considering the problem with drunk driving in Texas, prosecution will be fierce. A DWI resulting in the unfortunate killing of someone is handled and classified as a felony in the Houston and throughout Texas. In the State of Texas, killing a person as a result of an accident spurred on a drunk driving (Driving While Intoxicated or DWI) is the crime of Intoxication Manslaughter. If convicted, the defendant could face 20 years or more in a TDCJ operated prison facility.
Find The Best DWI Attorney
If you have a good DWI attorney on your side, you’ll be able to mitigate the worse, but there may still be a price to pay. If it is your first offense, in some state, a reckless endangerment is faced or a charge of vehicular homicide is levied. Apart from these, you also face DWI charges as well as vehicular manslaughter, manslaughter or murder charge.
DWI or DUI, and killing someone, are a lethal legal combination. As stated previously, charges vary with each state. In some states, you may be sentenced to a lifetime in jail for intoxication manslaughter, or in instances we’ve seen convicts get sentenced to a little more than a year and get fines of $1000 at least. In fact, the license of the driver may also get suspended. You are expected to go to rehab as community service or through probation. However, seeking legal help is best on causing death while you have driven drunk.
A Few Tips To Consider
- Stop your car. In case you have hit someone also, it is a crime to leave without giving insurance and contact information, so do not try to run leaving the scene. Ensure to put emergency blinkers on and come out of your car to investigate the details of the accident.
- Call the police to give statements so that you are not accused later for not giving information.
- Remain at the accident scene, exchange information with police and the other party, if possible.
- Do not try to hide or throw away evidences it there is anything related to the accident.
- Write down the phone numbers and names of a few witnesses
- Cooperate with emergency responders and law enforcement.
At the accident scene, do not discuss anything with anyone about this accident. Be very careful about what you say. Do not say any details of the accident as you will be in a perplexed state of mind. Do not apologize even if you know it is your fault. Seek advice from a qualified Texas DWI lawyer before you speak to anyone about your case. Discuss the case completely with your attorney and he/she will guide you.